A Missing Pennies Update

Posted: June 21, 2011 in South Korea

I’m not one to kick a dead horse but I felt this simply had to be shared after last night’s post, The Phantom Penny.  I was in the Post Exchange this afternoon and bought a large fountain soda from the Robin Hood Sandwich Shoppe, a Subway-esque offering at nearly all PX/BX operated by AAFES (Army and Air Force Exchange Service).  The cost of the drink was $1.89, I paid with a $5 bill.  I think you know where this is going.

The cashier correctly entered the amount of money I gave her so the digital screen in front of me read, “Due:     3.11” — an accurate calculation if I’ve ever seen one.  Yet, what do I get in return?  Three $1 bills and a dime.  NO PENNY.  Where are all the pennies???  Have they gone missing?  And if so, shouldn’t we be looking for them?

Is the price of copper in Korea so gregarious that we’ve resorted to melting the pennies down and selling off the metal?  I understand times are tough but this is no way to handle the national budget of either country.  At this point I could only laugh, as if my prior claims had been validated right before my eyes; this was no dream.

By my calculations, which seem far more accurate than any of the local cash register operators, I have now been swindled out of six pennies so I have decided to keep count on the blog as to how many pennies go missing from my net worth throughout this journey.  And when anybody asks where these pennies have gone, I’ll have to chalk them up as victims of circumstance.

Korea has them now.

Comments
  1. brandon says:

    They did that in Cuba to me to but it was more than a penny. They don’t explain or tell you. They just expect you to walk away and I did.
    Hope all is well.

  2. Matt says:

    Thanks, Brandon! It is good to hear from you and I agree, it is strange but I find it funny you experienced the same situation in a different foreign country.

I want YOUR feedback!

