Monsoon Season

Posted: June 30, 2011 in South Korea

So apparently in South Korea there is a time of the year officially recognized as “monsoon season” and unbeknownst to me, I arrived just in time for it, or so I’ve been told.  I was not completely sure what monsoon season meant but I was pretty sure, based on context clues, that I wasn’t going to enjoy it.  When someone happily tells you you’re “just in time” for something, you’d like to assume it’s a good thing.   In this case, it’s not.

Even worse, according to this website with a complete absence of credibility, the rainy season lasts for at least a month.

“According to the climate of South Korea the rainy season is for a month. It is usually from late June to late July. The south is the first to receive the monsoon which then slowly travels north. There is some rainfall during the retreating of the monsoon in September. Most part of the country receives more than 100 centimeters of rainfall.”

For those of you keeping score at home, the rainy season lasts for about 4 weeks and includes approximately 100 centimeters of rainfall, if not more.  That’s 39.37 inches of rain in 4 weeks, or roughly 10 inches of rain per week.  I’m not sure how accurate this website is, but considering it has essentially rained non-stop for 10 of the last 11 days, I am inclined to believe its sourceless claims.  It has rained so much that you just wake up in a fit of rage (not really, but I like to complain about the weather).

Looking back on my enlistment process, I know for a fact that I was never briefed about monsoon seasons and I tend to be pretty particular about the climate when I make any decision; I mean my personal comfort is the utmost priority (take note).  I am not the type to say that my recruiters lied to me during this process like many people do, in fact I had a great experience with mine throughout, but I can assure you that monsoon seasons in South Korea did not show up on any recruiting literature or brochures they were handing out.  I am going to claim a lack of full disclosure on this one.  You win some, you lose some.

…But I guess it could be worse:

Forrest is unsympathetic.

I want YOUR feedback!

