Ken’s Epic Korean Vacation Adventure: Day 2

Posted: January 21, 2012 in Ken's Epic Korean Vacation Adventure, South Korea

I plan on chronicling my Dad’s vacation to Seoul, South Korea in order to post a few pictures.  I realize this is LONG overdue, but better late than never, right?

Day 2: War Memorial of Korea/Seoul Tower

After introducing my Dad to the Seoul party night life, I decided it was time for more academic endeavors and thought that the War Memorial of Korea would be a nice start.  The memorial and corresponding museum was within walking distance of our hotel and covers a topic my Dad is certainly very interested in: history.

There are plenty of military artifacts featured in and out of the museum and there are a wide range of eras covered, beginning with imperial Korea through what we know as the Korean War, of which is featured most extensively for obvious reasons (you can find a more in-depth look at the War Memorial of Korea in this post,when I previously visited the site on my own).

Little did I know, however, that the museum itself isn’t open on Mondays — only I could manage to get my Dad to South Korea, plan a host of outings, and then take him to a place on the only day of the week that it is closed.  While I felt bad, my Dad was a good sport about it and we had fun with the areas set up outside of the museum and around the actual memorial.  Unfortunately, the only picture to really turn out (Seriously, how many things can I screw up?) from our antics that morning is posted below and might be my favorite picture of the week as it could only have been taken on a day that the museum was closed.  I guess some good did come from my error.

It's Ken's world, you're just living in it.

Mission accomplished, I suppose.  The War Memorial of Korea wouldn’t see the last of us.

Not wanting to waste any of our precious time together, I was forced to quickly think of a new site-seeing destination for the day and settled on Seoul Tower.  They can’t possibly close the top of a mountain or at least that’s what I was praying.  So we took a blood pressure-altering cab ride over to the base of the tower and began the brutal hike up the hill.

Seoul Tower is the highest point in Seoul where you can essentially get a 360 degree view of one of the world’s biggest cities; it truly is breathtaking.  Just imagine buildings as far as the eye can see in every direction.  It really is hard to put in to words how awe-inspiring the view is from Seoul Tower.  The area at the observation deck boasts a variety of restaurants and shops and is definitely a must-see tourist attraction for anyone visiting Seoul, South Korea.  Watch my video clip below for more.

(This is my first attempt at video editing so don’t expect an Oscar Award-winning product.)

Despite my shortcomings as a vacation planner — I won’t can’t quit my day job — we still had fun and made the most of our day.  After descending from Seoul Tower we headed back to our hotel to grab a nice dinner and prepare ourselves to tackle Tuesday.

I want YOUR feedback!

