Ken’s Epic Korean Vacation Adventure: Day 6

Posted: August 22, 2012 in Ken's Epic Korean Vacation Adventure, South Korea

My horribly, horribly long-overdue and no longer relevant attempt to shore up some loose ends in South Korea and share a few more experiences.   I’m considering firing myself for missing so many deadlines but nonetheless, enjoy!

Day 6: The Goodbye

“Korea Ken”: Always with the world in his rearview.

This post would probably be a lot harder to write if it were still late-October, 2011, on the heels of Dad’s greatest adventure yet.  Not only did we have a great time together but him leaving put forth the realization that his trip overseas I had been so excited for was actually over and I wouldn’t see him, or any of my other family members and best friends, for another seven months.  Needless to say, the two-hour train ride from Incheon International Airport to Uijeongbu was a lonely and reflective one.

But alas, thanks to my undying procrastination and sheer laziness, this post isn’t being written in October of 2011 and I’m back in the United States where I’ve been able to visit home twice in two months.  Needless to say, things are a lot different now than they were last October.

The last day of Dad’s vacation started like every other, with a nice breakfast at our usual spot at the Dragon Hill Lodge.  I think it’s safe to say we became regulars of The Oasis (and Bentley’s Pub, for that matter) in just one short week and anybody who knows my old man won’t see this as much of a surprise.  Relaxing at the hotel while waiting to grab a taxi to the airport gave us a little time to look back on the week that was.  We accomplished the majority of what we wanted to accomplish all while battling through my complete failures as a trip planner and a brief cold my Dad came down with thanks to that pure Korean mountain air.  We partied in Itaewon, visited the War Memorial of Korea, took in the city from Seoul Tower, saw a Joseon Dynasty palace, and toured the 3rd Infiltration Tunnel and DMZ, all while enjoying the sights and sounds of downtown Seoul, South Korea — one of the biggest cities in the world.  In fact, we even made time to throw our love letters at a South Korean boy band:

While the sightseeing and great company were awesome for the both of us, the greatest success of the trip was my Dad actually making the trip itself.  A 14-hour flight from Seattle to Incheon is no small task and visiting a foreign country and unfamiliar land can be a bit daunting at best.  I was incredibly proud that Dad made the trip, was a trooper throughout, and was a good sport the entire time (and has since continued to be a good sport about all of my blogging antics).

I can’t say enough about our time spent together and I was proud to have hosted my Dad on the peninsula where I was serving a year tour with the United States Army.  I hope my Dad looks back fondly on his vacation as I finally bring this series of posts to an end.

And with that I’ll leave you with one more lasting image from the now-famous Ken’s Epic Korean Vacation Adventure.

Korea will never be the same.

BRING IT, COMMIES!

I want YOUR feedback!

