I Did The Unthinkable… I Signed Up For A MARATHON

Posted: February 24, 2013 in Marathoning, Texas

Untitled

No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you.  Yes, you definitely read that correctly. I most certainly signed up for my first marathon. And not just any marathon, no, but the inaugural Army Marathon here in beautiful Killeen, Texas. Why, you ask? Well I have finally decided to look for things to do in my free time that most self-respecting adults consider to be socially acceptable hobbies and for whatever reason, I decided to go for the one thing my hatred for falls somewhere between the Duke Blue Devils and the Louisville Cardinals: running.

I’d like to think I am in pretty good shape thanks, in part, to the Army, but I’m nowhere near marathon conditioning.  And by “pretty good shape” I mean able to drink more beers than most people should in one sitting.  So it’s with that in mind that I’m hoping the daily physical training requirements of the Army will help supplement my preparation in any truncated schedule because, you see, the race takes place on April 21 which is now a mere 8 weeks from yesterday. Talk about jumping right in to the deep end.

Being the go-getter that I am, I Googled “8 week marathon training programs” from the comfort of my padded desk chair and elastic waistband pants and found a nine week program from a source that was borderline at best. Me pulling up this sketchy marathon training schedule and trying to strategically omit nearly 10 days of training is the point in time when the prescription drug commercial voice over guy tells you to “please consult a physician” before replicating these activities.

The original training schedule was as follows:

Week 1
Monday: rest or easy jog (Tomorrow)
Tuesday: rest of easy jog
Wednesday: 6 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: 4 miles
Saturday: rest
Sunday: 12/14 miles

Week 2
Monday: rest or easy jog
Tuesday: rest of easy jog
Wednesday: 4 mile handicap time trial
Thursday: rest or easy jog
Friday: 4 miles
Saturday: 4 miles
Sunday: 14 miles very slowly

Week 3
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6 miles
Thursday: 1 mile easy, 1 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Friday: rest
Saturday: Half Marathon (13.1 miles)
Sunday: rest or easy jog recovery

Week 4
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 1 mile easy, 2 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Sunday: 14/16 miles easy

Week 5
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest or easy jog
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 4 miles
Sunday: 18 miles

Week 6
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest or easy jog
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 1 mile easy, 2 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Friday: rest
Saturday: 18/20 miles
Sunday: rest

Week 7
Monday: rest or easy jog
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: rest
Sunday: 18/20 miles

Week 8
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 6 miles
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 4 miles time trial (Race Day)
Sunday: 10/12 miles

Week 9
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: 3 miles
Friday: 2 miles
Saturday: rest
Sunday: rest

And now here is my new, modified training schedule:

Week 1
Monday: rest or easy jog (Tomorrow)
Tuesday: rest of easy jog
Wednesday: 4 mile handicap time trial
Thursday: rest or easy jog
Friday: 4 miles
Saturday: 4 miles
Sunday: 14 miles very slowly

Week 2
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6 miles
Thursday: 1 mile easy, 1 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Friday: rest
Saturday: Half Marathon (13.1 miles)
Sunday: rest or easy jog recovery

Week 3
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 1 mile easy, 2 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Sunday: 14/16 miles easy

Week 4
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest or easy jog
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 4 miles
Sunday: 18 miles

Week 5
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest or easy jog
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 1 mile easy, 2 mile steady, 1 mile easy
Friday: rest
Saturday: 18/20 miles
Sunday: rest

Week 6
Monday: rest or easy jog
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 6/8 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: rest
Sunday: 18/20 miles

Week 7
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 6 miles
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: 4 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 4 miles time trial
Sunday: 10/12 miles

Week 8
Monday: rest
Tuesday: rest
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: 3 miles
Friday: 2 miles
Saturday: rest (Race Day)

Week 1, Day 1 is “rest or easy jog.”   This training schedule is right up my alley.

Not only will marathon training give me something to do, it will also give me something else to write about on this blog.  You might be wondering what some marathon has to do with a blog primarily meant to be about traveling in far off lands.  Well, aside from it being the Army’s marathon, I am technically traveling a total of 26.2 miles in the process.  More importantly, however, is that publicly announcing my intentions to run this marathon will actually force me to follow through with the plan.  You see, fear of what people might think of me if I publicly fail will motivate me more than any sense of personal accomplishment.  Superficial, I know.  Don’t judge me.

Plus if you read the About section you will see that the ultimate purpose of this blog is to document my “fish-out-of-water story” and there’s no bigger fish-out-of-water than me in a marathon, let’s be honest.  And for what it’s worth, my starting weight for this little adventure is 190 pounds.  190 pounds of hopes and dreams.

See you at the finish line.

I want YOUR feedback!

