Marathon Eve

Posted: April 20, 2013 in Marathoning, Texas

Untitled

 

Well, the time has come. We’re just a little over 12 hours away from the start of the inaugural Army Marathon.  I had hoped to post more updates along the way but my training hasn’t gone quite as well as I had planned, which is saying a lot because who really thought this process would go well for me to begin with?  Plus, there wasn’t much to update you fine folks on until the race actually got here simply because all I did was run.  A lot.  And loosely resemble a dog struggling in a surgical collar in the process.

To say my training hasn’t gone as planned may be an understatement. I battled two very painful cases of what the Internets is calling “runners knee” throughout my training, which forced me to cut back on an already condensed training schedule in order to be physically able to fulfill my Army Physical Fitness Test obligations.  I have since purchased two high-tech knee braces that I now wear when I run, which brings additional unnecessary attention to this train wreck and makes me look like the old white guy playing basketball at the YMCA still trying to live out his life’s dream of being “the next Larry Bird.”  While I was reluctant to accessorize, the knee braces do seem to help, as do the Dr. Scholl’s Active Series Insoles that I added to my Nikes (hat tip to the Mom for that suggestion), so if any fellow runners are having knee pain I would give the Mueller brand knee braces and Dr Scholl’s insoles a look.

Earlier today I was able to pick up my race packet which made my imminent demise all too real.  I was told that I needed to be at the starting line by about 5:30 in the morning, which lead to the realization that I don’t know if I have ever been up at 5:30AM on the weekend unless I was still up from the night before.  I better get a heavy dose of personal fulfillment that these running maniacs talk about when I cross that finish line because this marathon is really eating in to my ability to sit around and do absolutely nothing but watch baseball and drink beer all weekend.

Nonetheless, this is what I signed up for and I’m actually excited to get started and even more ready to finish.  I’ll be posting the start of the race on Facebook and “Liking” my status will send cheers directly to the Nike+ app on my iPhone and in to my headphones while I run.  Technology these days, what will they think of next?  This will allow my friends and family to be a part of my overall success (failure) tomorrow with virtual words of encouragement.  Or, if that doesn’t interest you, you can just text message me hateful things like most of my close friends do on a daily basis.

At this point, I know my pace will be very slow and my time won’t be great but as long as I finish I’ll be happy.  After all, 26.2 miles is an awfully long ways and I’m not sure I did that math back when I signed up 9 weeks ago but it’s too late to turn back now.

Pray for me.

I want YOUR feedback!

