So This Was My Transportation The Other Day

Posted: October 26, 2013 in Egypt, The Army

Doc_Brown

Emmett “Doc” Brown once said, “Where we’re going, we don’t need roads!”  And when you’re as important as a guy like me, you don’t need roads either.

A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of taking a trip to MFO North Camp (I’m at MFO South Camp), our counterpart in the northeast corner of the Sinai Peninsula, as they needed the expertise of yours truly regarding their satellite communications setup.  I was more than happy to oblige because, let’s face it, it’s not often that any facet of the Army is going to admit that you know something worthwhile and then dole out some partial-VIP treatment because of it.

I was taken to the air strip for the hour-long flight north and was met by this as our means of transportation:

IMG_0382

A C-23 Sherpa, a prop plane of United Kingdom origin that looks like, at one time, it could have easily been used to smuggle drugs in and out of South America under the cover of a few crates of live chickens before the US Government confiscated it and gave it a new paint job.

Now a few of you may already know that while I don’t have a fear of flying I don’t particularly like it, either.  I’m with Sir Isaac Newton in that gravity will inevitably beat me in the end if I test it too many times.  But seeing as my presence was requested up north and I’m bound by various regulations to always place the mission first, I willingly boarded the Sherpa and sat where the fly crew told me to in order to “balance the aircraft.”  By all means, I’ll sit wherever necessary in order to prevent this tin can from tumbling in to some sort of barrel roll shortly after take off because that’s just the kind of guy I am.

The flight was loud and bumpy but I made it to and from South Camp safely and at the end of the day, that’s all that really matters.  Throughout the trip I really felt like I was riding in the same plane Indiana Jones was forced to jump out of on a life raft in Temple of Doom.  Now, as much as I love the Indiana Jones series, I was praying we wouldn’t have to recreate that scene for obvious reasons.

FordTrimotor

cnsmovie_indianajones_temple_14

160466693971

Besides, I didn’t have Short Round with me for moral support.

Hey, lady!  You call him Doctah Mowery!

Hey, lady! You call him Doctah Mowery!

I want YOUR feedback!

